Spirit of Excellence Awards


Submit Your Entries for the 2017-2018 Spirit of Excellence Awards

Each Spirit of Excellence award entry, including Chapter of the Year, must be submitted in PDF format (with any video files attached separately) and sent via e-mail to ILEA Headquarters or uploaded to Dropbox (you may have to set up a new account) and shared with ILEA Headquarters.

Only entrees received before 11:59 p.m. PST on Wednesday, June 27, 2018 will be considered. 

Download the Spirit of Excellence Awards Submission Guide

For more information, contact Monique Jeffrey, Spirit of Excellence Awards Committee Chair. 

Winners will be announced during the 2018 Annual General Meeting at ILEA Live in Denver. 

Chapter Awards

081017_ILEA_Live_021ILEA’s annual Spirit of Excellence awards recognize ILEA chapters which excel in chapter communications, administration, membership retention and growth programs.

By earning one of the chapter awards below, your chapter has demonstrated their expertise and excellence in all forms of their operation. Being part of an award-winning association sets our members apart from the competition and highlights to new members the benefits of being a part of our exclusive group of creative event people.

ILEA Chapter Awards:

  • Chapter of the Year Award
  • Region/Affiliate of the Year Award
  • Excellence in Communications Award
  • Excellence in Education & Programming Award
  • Excellence in Special Projects Award
  • Excellence in Membership Retention Award
  • Excellence in Membership Growth Award
  • Excellence in Membership Recruitment Award (individual chapter member)

For more information, contact Monique Jeffrey, Spirit of Excellence Awards Committee Chair or Sarah Zahorak at ILEA Headquarters.

See past recipients.

Individual Leadership Awards

It's no secret that ILEA members are among the best and brightest. To recognize their outstanding service and achievement, ILEA awards several honors. These individual awards are presented at the ILEA Annual Meeting each August.

  • Volunteer of the Year Award

    Given to the ILEA volunteer who goes above and beyond the call of duty, is constantly available to assist in any way, and who has performed his/her job in a tremendous and professional manner.
  • Mettle Attitude Award

    Given to the ILEA volunteer who is always willing to help and who gets the job done even under trying circumstances. 
  • J. Robert Graves Pioneer Award

    Presented to individual(s) for striving and reaching new heights, with the vision to see past the obstacles and the determination never to look back.
  • Klaus Inkamp Lifetime Achievement Award

    This prestigious award is presented to a leader in ILEA and the live events industry. The criteria are:
  • Lengthy contribution to ILEA and the industry
  • Well-respected individual
  • Individual has given selflessly to the industry
  • Individual is highly ethical and above reproach
  • Individual maintains participation in the industry

For more information, contact Monique Jeffrey, Spirit of Excellence Awards Committee Chair or Sarah Zahorak at ILEA Headquarters.

See past recipients.

Congratulations to the 2016-2017 Spirit of Excellence Award Winners!

ILEA’s annual Spirit of Excellence awards recognize some of the best and brightest leaders in the ILEA organization. From outstanding ILEA chapters to dedicated individuals, these members leave their mark on the strategic vision of the association.

Congratulations to this year's Spirit of Excellence Winners!

    • Excellence in Membership Recruitment: Amanda Zahner
    • Excellence in Membership Growth: ILEA Napa Sonoma
    • Excellence in Membership Retention: ILEA Cincinnati
    • Excellence in Chapter Communications: ILEA Dallas
    • Excellence in Programming and Education: ILEA Austin
    • Excellence in Special Projects: ILEA New Orleans
    • International Engagement: ILEA Minneapolis-St. Paul
    • ILEA Affiliate or Region of the Year: U.S. Southeast Region
    • ILEA Chapter of the Year: ILEA Minneapolis-St. Paul
    • J. Robert Graves Award: Elizabeth Nutting, CSEP
    • Mettle Attitude Award: Amanda Zahner
    • Klaus Inkamp Lifetime Achievement Award: David E. Merrell
    • Volunteer of the Year Award: Donna Wing


    Photo courtesy of Kate Pope Photography.